CIVIS Media Prize 2016 - 13 Programmes Honoured in Berlin

BERLIN, May 12, 2016 /PRNewswire/ --

Thirteen European radio, film, television and Internet programmes were honoured on Thursday evening (12/05) in the Federal Foreign Office in Berlin with the award of the prestigious CIVIS Media Prize for Migration, Integration and Cultural Diversity in Europe. 936 programmes from 21 EU countries and Switzerland were entered in the 2016 competition.

The prize-giving ceremony and the TV Gala are broadcast by ARD/Das Erste and a number of European television programmes (see broadcast times).

2016 Awards 

The CIVIS Media Prize 2016 was awarded to programmes from the ARD, ARTE / BBC, BR, Channel 4 News, Deutschlandfunk, ORF, SRF, WDR and the Zurich College of Art (ZHdK). The awards are endowed with a cash prize.

Already known were the winner of the European Young CIVIS Media Prize, "Inland" by Piet Baumgartner (ZHdK), and the winner of the CIVIS Special Prize in the category of 'Integration + Sport' - "BVB vs. The Right" by Mareike Wilms (TV), "Burscheider Ballverein plays Football with Refugees" by Jennifer von Massow (Radio) and "Where does the League come from" by Hans Helmreich and Steffen Lunkenheimer (Online). The CIVIS Special Prize is supported by the German Football Association (DFB).

The CIVIS Cinema Prize went, as an Audience Prize, to the satirical motion picture "He's Back Again" from Mythos Film/Constantin Film Produktion. Prize-winners were David Wnendt (director), as well as Christoph Müller and Lars Dittrich (production).

Prominent Guests at the CIVIS TV Gala 

As CIVIS patrons, German Federal President Joachim Gauck and the President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz, attended the festive award ceremony in the Federal Foreign Office. They were joined by the Commissioner for Integration of the Federal Government, Minister of State Aydan Özoguz, Minister of State in the German Federal Foreign Office, Prof. Dr. Maria Böhmer, Dr. Friede Springer, WDR Director-General Tom Buhrow, ORF Director-General Dr. Alexander Wrabetz, SRG Director-General Roger de Weck, WDR Television Director Jörg Schönborn, Minu Barati-Fischer of the German Producers Alliance, DFB Media Director Ralf Köttker, the DFB coach of the German women's national team Steffi Jones (as of autumn 2016). Also there were the TV presenters Sandra Maischberger (ARD), Frank Elstner (ARD), Sonia Seymour Mikich (WDR), Anja Reschke (NDR), Pinar Atalay (ARD), Siham El-Maimouni (WDR), Cherno Jobatey (ZDF), Fritz Frey (SWR), Christoph Takacs (ORF), as well as media expert Prof. Dr. Jo Groebel, Michael Loeb (WDR mediagroup), Michael Radix (CIVIS Media Foundation), among others.

The Prize-winners (Summary) 

The European CIVIS TV Prize in the Magazine category (Short programme up to ten minutes) went to Lisa Schurr for her short report on ARD-Mittagsmagazin: "On the Limit - The Helpers from von Wegscheid. Part 1" (Bayerischer Rundfunk).

The European CIVIS TV Prize in the Entertainment category (fictional) went to Nils Willbrandt for his TV film "Meatloafland" (ARD, DEGETO, Ziegler Film).

The European CIVIS TV Prize in the Information category  (non fictional) went to both Anna Thommen for her documentary "Newland", (Swiss Radio and Television/Fama Film/Zurich College of Art), and to Annalisa Piras for her documentary-fiction "EU: Shortly before the Crash? The Great European Disaster Movie "(ARTE / BBC/SpringShot Productions). The CIVIS jury named two winners in this category.

The European CIVIS Radio Prize in the long programme category (over six minutes) went to Marianthi Milona for her feature "Should I die in your Country. About anonymous burials of refugees in Greece"(Deutschlandfunk).

The European CIVIS Radio Prize in the short programme category (up to six minutes) went to Meinhard Mühlmann for his serial from 30/06/2016 "People in Flight. An Ö3 Minute for Contemplation" (Hitradio Ö3, Austrian Broadcasting Corporation).

The European CIVIS Special Prize for "Integration + Sport" went to Mareike Wilms for her television documentary "BVB vs. The Right - Dortmund and its unloved Fans" (Westdeutscher Rundfunk), Jennifer von Massow for her radio magazine report "NRW helps - Burscheider Ballverein plays Football with Refugees" (Westdeutscher Rundfunk) and Hans Helmreich and Steffen Lunkenheimer for their website "Where does the League come from" (Bayerischer Rundfunk).

The European CIVIS Online Media Prize in the web programmes category  went to Felix Renicks for the website (Channel 4News).

The European CIVIS Online Media Prize in the web videos category went to Stephan Keicher, Hans Helmreich and Wolfgang Vichtl for their video special (Bayerischer Rundfunk).

The European Young CIVIS Media Prize was awarded to Piet Baumgartner for his short film "Inland" (Zürcher College of Art).

The CIVIS Media Prize has been awarded for 29 years for outstanding programmes on radio, film, television and, since 2010, on the Internet, which promote peaceful coexistence in the European immigrant society.

Jury's reasons for downloading:

Broadcasting times: 

12/05/2016, ARD/Das Erste 0.10 - 01.30 hrs. (Night of 12/05-/13/05.)

12/05/2016, ORF III Fernsehen 23.30 - 0.50 hrs.

14/05/2016, WDR Fernsehen 8.25 - 9.45 hrs.

22/05/2016, 3sat 10.35 - 11.55 hrs.

Also on the programme of Deutsche Welle.

Further information is available at:

Follow us also on Facebook and Twitter:  |

You will find photos at:

Press Contact: 
WDR Press and Information 
50600 Cologne, Germany 
Tel.: +49-221-220-7100 


CIVIS Medienstiftung

PR Newswire

Dit persbericht is via ANP Pers Support naar internationale (vak en online) media gestuurd. Heb je nieuws voor buitenlandse journalisten? Bekijk dan onze mogelijkheden of neem contact met ons op.

Verstuur nu éénmalig een persbericht

Verstuur persberichten en beeldmateriaal naar redacties in binnen- en buitenland. Via het ANP-net, het internationale medianetwerk van PR Newswire of met een perslijst op maat.

Direct persbericht versturen
070 - 41 41 234