Indian Medical Association Refutes Allegations Being Targeted Towards President Elect of the World Medical Association - Dr Ketan Desai

NEW DELHI, October 9, 2015 /PRNewswire/ --

Originally elected as WMA President in 2009, Dr. Desai was restricted to take over as President in 2010 at its General Assembly in Canada due to seven cases that were registered against him relating to corruption, by the government of India.

The CBI investigated these in detail for over two years and closed the disproportionate asset case, giving him a clean chit from all financial irregularities.

WMA in 2010 in its General Assembly noted and agreed with Indian laws that Dr. Desai is innocent unless proved guilty. Dr. Desai has never been convicted and deserves his rightful place at the WMA.

In 2013, the Brazil General Assembly revoked his suspension. A council meeting at Japan set-up steps for his reinstallation in 2016, based on a communication sent by the Indian Medical Association (IMA), enclosing a CBI letter enlisting the status of seven cases against him that was ratified in South Africa WMA General Assembly in 2014.

Unanimously elected three times to head the Medical Council of India, once Indian Medical Association, he was instrumental in reforming medical education, implementing a common entrance medical exam, making research compulsory for teachers and postgraduates; and stringent laws to prevent pharma-doctor nexus and hiring of fake doctors.

He was Professor and Head of Urology at the prestigious Government B J Medical College, Ahmedabad (1988-2015), and President of Gujarat Medical Council (1993-2010). He was a member of Institute Body of Premier institutes like AIIMS (New Delhi), PGIMER (Chandigarh), Drug Technical Advisory Board (New Delhi) and National Board of Examination (NBE).

Dr. Desai has won several awards like the Dr. B C Roy National Award for Eminent Medical Teacher, Visiting Professorship by Dr. M G R Medical University, Dr. A K N Sinha National Award for contribution to the medical profession by IMA, President's Gold Medal Award for outstanding contribution to Urology by the Urology Society of India etc.

Padma Shri Awardees - Dr. A Marthanda Pillai, National President and Dr. K K Aggarwal, Honorary Secretary General, IMA, in a joint statement said, "Actions speak louder than words and the pivotal role played by Dr. Desai in streamlining the medical profession cannot be undermined by a few false accusations. The truth must come to the forefront and mere politics must not deter him from taking his rightful place as the President of the World Medical Association."

About IMA: 

Indian Medical Association is the only representative, national voluntary organization of Doctors of Modern Scientific System of Medicine, which looks after the interests of doctors as well as the well-being of the community at large. It has its headquarters in Delhi and State / Terr. Branches in 29 States and Union Territories. It has over 2,53,000 doctors as its members through more than 1650 active local branches spread across the country.

For more information, visit

Media Contact: 
Mr. Sanjay Sharma 
IMA Public & Media Advocacy Cell 


Indian Medical Association

PR Newswire

Dit persbericht is via ANP Pers Support naar internationale (vak en online) media gestuurd. Heb je nieuws voor buitenlandse journalisten? Bekijk dan onze mogelijkheden of neem contact met ons op.

Verstuur nu éénmalig een persbericht

Verstuur persberichten en beeldmateriaal naar redacties in binnen- en buitenland. Via het ANP-net, het internationale medianetwerk van PR Newswire of met een perslijst op maat.

Direct persbericht versturen
070 - 41 41 234